We deliver the northeast

2 BJP MLAs resign from West Bengal Assembly, party tally reaches 75

KOLKATA: Jagannath Sarkar and Nitish Pramanik, Lok Sabha MPs of Bharatiya Janata Party, have tendered their resignation on Wednesday as members of the West Bengal assembly which has down the BJP’s tally to 75 in the state.

Ranaghat MP Jagannath Sarkar and Cooch Behar MP Nitish Pramanik were elected from the Santipur and Dinhata constituencies respectively in the recently-concluded West Bengal assembly polls.

As per rules, a leader cannot hold two constitutional posts at the same time, hence, they have decided to resign from the assembly.

Also Read: Even negative COVID patients require oxygen; Assam health department on the new strain

Both of them handed over their resignations to Speaker Biman Banerjee.

The BJP had fielded two more MPs in the assembly polls including Union Minister Babul Supriyo and Locket Chatterjee. Both of them lost the election.

Now, the BJP holds 75 seats out of 294 seats in West Bengal Assembly.

Notably, five assembly seats to hold by-polls following the death and resignation of the candidates.

Support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism:

Support us

Download InsideNE App

Follow us on Facebook

Leave A Reply