We deliver the northeast

309 candidates file nomination for 3rd and final phase of Assam Assembly elections

GUWAHATI: A total of 309 candidates have filed their nomination for the third and final phase of Assam Assembly elections. 40 constituencies will go to polls in the third phase on April 6.

Heavyweight politicians who filed their nominations for the third phase include Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) ministers Himanta Biswa Sarma (Jalukbari) Siddhartha Bhattacharya (Gauhati East), Chandra Mohan Patowary (Dharampur), etc.

On the other hand, sitting Congress Member of Legislative Assembly (MLA) Rekibuddin Ahmed and former AGP legislator Kamala Kalita also filed their nomination for the Chaygaon constituency yesterday.

It is pertinent to mention here that Kokrajhar Lok Sabha Member of Parliament (MP) Naba Kumar Sarania also filed his nomination from Barama as an Independent candidate.

Also Read: PM Modi to address mega rally in Chabua today

The date of scrutiny for the third phase is March 20 while last date of withdrawal is March 22.

Election for the 126 member Assam Legislative Assembly will be held in three phases on March 27, April 1 and April 6. Counting of votes shall take place on May 2.

Support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism:

Support us

Download InsideNE App

Follow us on Facebook


Leave A Reply