We deliver the northeast

Arunachal Pradesh: 3 districts bordering along with Assam declared ‘disturbed area’ by Centre

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

ITANAGAR: The Union Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) has extended the “disturbed area” status for three Arunachal Pradesh districts bordering along with Assam for the six months Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act.

The districts are namely Tirap, Changlang and Longding (TCL).

“Now, therefore, Tirap, Changlang and Longding districts in Arunachal Pradesh and the areas falling within the jurisdiction of Namsai and Mahadevpur police stations in Namsai district of Arunachal Pradesh, bordering the state of Assam, are declared as ‘disturbed area’ under Section 3 of the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, 1958 from 01.10.2021 to 31.03.2022 unless withdrawn earlier,” the notification said.

Also Read: Athuan Abonmai Murder: JAC Call For 24 Hrs Statewide Shut Down In Manipur Seeking…

The areas were declared “disturbed” in view of the insurgent activities and review of the law-and-order situation there.

This is also for the first time that the AFSPA will not be applicable to two police stations in another two districts — Lower Dibang and Lohit — in view of the improved security situation, PTI reported.

The ministry recently conducted another examination of the law-and-order situation in Arunachal Pradesh’s Tirap, Changlang, and Longding districts, as well as the region falling under the jurisdiction of four police stations in other districts bordering Assam.

Support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism:

Support us

Download InsideNE App

Follow us on Facebook

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply