We deliver the northeast

Assam: AASU-AJYCP combine to form new political party ahead of Assembly polls

AASU-AJYCP forms a new committee to decide the future of the new Regional political party in Assam. As per sources, non-AASU and non-AJYCP individuals, academicians and intellectuals will also be part of this committee.

The members include Dhiren Saikia, Ali Haider Laskar, Rana Changmai, Abu Sahib Rafik Uddin Ahmed, Sanjay Kumar Tanti, Prithbiraj Rabha, Surjya Thausen, Hussain Ahmed Laskar, Pranab Jyoti Saikia, Pradip Koch.

Also read: Nagaland: NSCN (IM) vows to defend Naga issue, alleges ‘R N Ravi has deceitful agenda’

The Initial convenors are Lurinjyoti Gogoi, Palash Changmai. The Advisors include Nagen Saikia and Arup Dutta. The Convenos are Ranjit Sekhar Musahari, Jahnu Barua, Krishna Gopal Bhattacharjya, Basanta Deka.

After 35 years after AGP’s formation, AASU and AJYCP have taken the step at forming a new political party. Both organisations, which spearheaded anti-CAA stir, have formed an advisory committee to suggest a way forward. Assam will go to polls in 2021.

Readers like you make Inside Northeast’s work possible

To support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism, support us HERE.


The Inside Northeast app HERE for News, Views, and Reviews from Northeast India.

Do keep following us for news on-the-go. We deliver the Northeast.

Leave A Reply