We deliver the northeast

Assam: Biswajit Daimary to be elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha

GUWAHATI: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Biswajit Daimary is likely to elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha for yet another term after no one filed nomination papers to contest the election against him. Today was the last date for filing nominations for the by-poll which will be held on March 1 next.

Daimary himself had vacated the post following his dramatic switch from the Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) to the saffron party ahead of the Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) polls. Although the BPF managed to win the highest number of Seats (17) in the 40-member Council, an alliance comprising the BJP, UPPL, and GSP was able to form the government.

The BJP on February 15 named Biswajit Daimary, who had joined it after quitting his Rajya Sabha seat as a Bodoland People’s Front MP, as its candidate for the by-polls.

Biswajit Daimary had earlier been a three-time Rajya Sabha member since 2008, representing the Hagrama Mohilary-led BPF.

Rajya Sabha Elections 2021:

Today was the last date for the filing of nominations. The scrutiny of the nomination papers will be done tomorrow. The last date for withdrawal of candidature is February 22.

The polls will be held from 9 am to 4 pm on March 1. The counting of votes will be after 5 pm the same day. The entire election procedure will be over by March 3. The term of the to-be elected RS member from Assam will be up to April 9, 2026.

Support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism:

Support us

Download InsideNE App

Follow us on Facebook

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.