We deliver the northeast

Assam elections trends: NDA wins 57 seats in Assam so far; leading in 16 others

GUWAHATI: Bharatiya Janata Party-led NDA has won as many as 24 seats in the Assam assembly polls 2021 so far and leading in 49 others.

On the other hand, the Congress-led Mahajot was distant at second with 36 seats so far.

The newly formed political parties Assam Jatiya Parishad and Raijor Dal have bite the dust. Only Akhil Gogoi could make an impact so far. Though Dulu Ahmed, a former Congress leader who had joined AJP recently, was giving some ray of hope for the party in Hajo, but all went in vain at last.

In a dramatic twist, Assam Congress Pradesh Committee president Ripun Bora, who had also claimed himself eligible for the chief ministerial post, lost the battle to BJP candidate Utpal Bora in Gohpur constituency.

Also Read: Akhil Gogoi Conquers Sibsagar; Lurinjyoti Gogoi Finishes Poor Third

Similarly, BJP’s Batadrova candidate Angoorlata Deka, who had claimed that even 10 Priyanka Gandhis cannot defeat her in the election and called Rahul Gandhi ‘Pappu’ and ‘Joker’, had lost her seat by almost 40,000 votes to Congress candidate Sibamoni Bora.

Pramila Rani Brahma, the incumbent Assam social welfare minister of Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) has lost the Kokrajhar East seat by a margin of 10,658 votes to United People’s Party-Liberal (UPPL) candidate Lawrence Islary.

Hagrama Mohilary-led BPF, which was meant to boost Congress towards a victory to form government in Dispur, is the party that has cost Congress dearly.

Support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism:
Leave A Reply