We deliver the northeast

Assam Govt puts U G Brahma in charge of ‘Welfare of Bodoland’ Department

GUWAHATI: The Assam government today gave additional allocations to two more Ministers in the Dr. Himanta Biswa Sarma headed Cabinet– Urkhao Gwra Brahma and Dr. Ranuj Pegu.

According to a notification issued by Jishnu Baruah, the Chief Secretary of the government of Assam, Brahma has been allocated the handloom and textiles, soil conservation, and welfare of Bodoland departments.

On the other hand, Education Minister Pegu has been allotted the welfare of plain tribes and backward classes.

ALSO READ: Assam: Man kills wife over Rs 10

It needs mention here that Brahma, who represents the Chapaguri constituency is a Sahitya Akademi Awardee and former All Bodo Students Union(ABSU) president. He was one of the key figures in the demand for a separate state Bodoland.
However, the demand has now ceased with the signing of the Bodoland Territorial Region (BTR) Accord between the Government of India and the Government of Assam on one side and the National Democratic Front of Bodoland, (NDFB) the All Bodo Students’ Union and United Bodo People’s Organisation on the other. Brahma was also the president of the United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL) before he handed the reins over to Promod Boro, the young dynamic student leader who has since gone on to be elected as the Bodo Council’s chief.

It needs mention here that in 2021, the National Democratic Alliance won a majority of seats in the legislature, with 75 seats, followed by Congress with 29 seats and AIUDF with 16.

CM Himanta Biswa Sarma and 13 others make up the current Assam Cabinet.

Support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism:

Support us

Download InsideNE App

Follow us on Facebook

Leave A Reply