We deliver the northeast

Authors Margaret Atwood and Bernardine Evaristo Share Prestigious Booker Prize

London, October 15, 2019:

Canadian author Margaret Atwood and Anglo-Nigerian author Bernardine Evaristo are the joint winners of the prestigious Booker Prize for Fiction. Atwood’s ‘The Testaments’, and Evaristo’s ‘Girl, Woman, Other’ bagged the prestigious award.

‘The Testaments’ is a sequel to Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale (1985). It is a follow up of the latter with the character, Aunt Lydia narrating it.

The book has Agnes and Daisy as the protagonists, where the former is the character of an orphan adopted by a Gileadean family and the latter is one that is smuggled out of Gilead and lives in Toronto. The two are the daughters of Offred, the protagonist of The Handmaid’s Tale.

Evaristo’s ‘Girl, Woman, Other’ presents around twelve characters, who connect with each other as the plot unfolds. Each of these characters is the narrator of her/their own journey.
It may be mentioned here that this is the third time that two authors have shared the Booker Prize for their work. Earlier, it has been shared in the years 1974 and 1997.

With this win, Margaret Atwood has become the only second female author to bag the Booker Prize twice.

ALSO READ: Anurag Kashyap to Present Acclaimed Assamese Film ‘Aamis’ Across India, Sets November 22 Release Date

Support Inside Northeast (InsideNE), an independent media platform that focuses on Citizen-centric stories from Northeast India that are surprising, inspiring, cinematic and emotionally relevant.

Readers like you make Inside Northeast’s work possible.

To support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism, support us HERE.

Download:Set featured image

The Inside Northeast app HERE for News, Views, and Reviews from Northeast India.

Do keep following us for news on-the-go. We deliver the Northeast.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.