BCCI approves entry of two new teams in IPL 2022

NEW DELHI: The Board of Control for Cricket in India during its Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Thursday approved the entry of two new franchises in the Indian Premier League (IPL) to make it a 10 team affair from the upcoming IPL seasons.

In a major development , the Board decided to back the ICC’s bid for inclusion of cricket, in the T20 format, in the 2028 Los Angeles Olympics “after getting some clarifications from the International Olympic Committee”.

ALSO READ: BTC Chief Promod Boro condemns BPF “violence” inside Secretariat during Floor Test

It was further decided that all first-class players, both men and women, will be suitably compensated for the curtailed domestic season due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The BCCI plans to get the domestic season underway, after several months’ delay, in January with the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 championship.

In other decisions, veteran Congress leader Rajiv Shukla was officially anointed the Board’s vice president in place of his protege Mahim Verma from Uttarakhand.

It was also learnt that the general body decided in favour of Sourav Ganguly continuing as a director in the ICC Board.

Secretary Jay Shah will be the alternate director as well as India’s representative at the Chief Executive Committee meets of the global body.

To support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism, support us HERE.


The Inside Northeast app HERE for News, Views, and Reviews from Northeast India.

Do keep following us for news on-the-go. We deliver the Northeast

Indian Premier LeagueIPL