We deliver the northeast

Bhupen Borah appointed as new president of Assam Congress

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

GUWAHATI: All India Congress Committee (AICC) President Sonia Gandhi has appointed Bhupen Kumar Borah as the new president of the Assam Pradesh Congress Committee today with immediate effect.

“Hon’ble Congress President has appointed Shri Bhupen Borah as President of Assam Pradesh Congress Committee with immediate effect,” reads a part of the notification undersigned by AICC General Secretary K.C. Venugopal.

Bhupen Borah is a two-time legislator from the Bihpuria constituency of the Lakhimpur district. He had lost the assembly poll in 2016 to Bharatiya Janata Party’s Debananda Hazarika and in 2021 to Amiya Kumar Bhuyan.

Also Read: UPPL Candidate To Contest By-Poll From Tamulpur: Pramod Boro

Apart from Borah, former Jorhat MLA Rana Goswami, North Karimganj MLA Kamalakhya Dey Purkayastha and Sarukhetri MLA Jakir Hussain Sikdar have been appointed as Working Presidents of APCC as well.

“The party appreciates the contributions of outgoing PCC President, Shri Ripun Bora,” the statement reads.

With the new responsibilities, Rana Goswami and Bhupen Borah have been relieved from their position as AICC Secretary as well.

Taking responsibility for the “humiliating” defeat in the Assam Assembly Polls, outgoing president Ripun Bora had tendered his resignation from his position on May 2.

Support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism:

Support us

Download InsideNE App

Follow us on Facebook

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply