We deliver the northeast

Biswajit Daimary, veteran politician from Bodoland, all set to become next ALA speaker

GUWAHATI: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader and Rajya Sabha member Biswajit Daimary will be the next speaker of the Assam Legislative Assembly (ALA).

Earlier in the day, National East Democratic Alliance (NEDA) convenor Himanta Biswa Sarma was sworn in as the 15th chief minister of Assam.

Besides him, 13 other ministers were administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Prof Jagdish Mukhi at the Srimanta Sankardev Kalakshetra here.

ALSO READ: Nearly 100 million years old Dinosaur bones discovered in Meghalaya

Biswajit Daimary won from the Panery constituency in the recently concluded state assembly elections.

He defeated his arch-rival Karuna Kanta Swargiary of Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) by a margin of over 35,000 votes.

Daimary was born on 4 February 1971 and currently represents Assam in Rajya Sabha as a member of the BJP.

He was first elected as a member of the Assam Legislative Assembly (MLA) in 2001.

ALSO READ: Wearing double masks to fight against COVID-19 ? Here’s dos and don’ts

Later he was elected as Member of Parliament (MP) to Rajya Sabha in 2008 and for the second term in 2014 as a member of Bodoland People’s Front (BPF).

Daimary left the BPF in November 2020, to join BJP just before the Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) elections.

On 21 November 2020, Daimary resigned from the Rajya Sabha. However, he was re-elected on 23 February from BJP.

Support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism:

Support us

Download InsideNE App

Follow us on Facebook


Leave A Reply