We deliver the northeast

BJP expels 11 for contesting Tripura ADC polls as independents

AGARTALA: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Thursday expelled 11 party leaders for contesting as independent candidates in the 30-member Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council (TTAADC) election.

Tripura BJP party spokesperson Subrata Chakraborty said: “The BJP leaders have been expelled for tarnishing the party’s reputation for a span of six years.”

ALSO READ: Son slaps 76-yr-old woman to death in Delhi

“A few of the leaders are spreading lies against the party,” Chakraborty said. As a result, they have been sanctioned.”

Although some party leaders have run as independent candidates, others have become proponents of independent candidates for the ADC election in Tripura, according to Chakraborty.

There has been a revolt against the BJP leadership following the announcement of the candidates list for the Tripura ADC elections.

The Tripura BJP had previously declared that they would run alone in the ADC election in Tripura, but the party later forged a pre-poll alliance with the Indigenous Peoples Front of Tripura (IPFT) and gave the IPFT more seats.

Two mandal (block) presidents and a district vice-president are among the 11 who have been expelled from the party for six years. The rest are BJP Janajati Morcha leaders and mandal level party officials.

Support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism:

Support us

Download InsideNE App

Follow us on Facebook


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.