We deliver the northeast

Black day in Assam as Tamulpur village boycotts polls due to ‘neglect’

Tamulpur, April 23, 2019:

In a major setback to the democratic process in the country, the villagers of Ekrajuli in Tamulpur of Assam have boycotted the casting of votes in the Phase-III of Lok Sabha election this year.


The villagers claimed that they have boycotted the election as a mark of protest against the “false” promises made to the people in the name of development.

The villagers alleged they have been deprived of the various schemes. They also alleged that no political leaders have visited the village and questioned why they should vote for these politicians.

The villagers protested holding placards and participated in sloganeering in and around the village on the day of the election.

Tamulpur falls under the 5 – Kokrajhar (ST) Lok Sabha Constituency which headed to the polls during the third and final phase of voting in Assam.

Meanwhile, 72.67% turnout has been recorded in Kokrajhar till 5 pm.

The assembly segments under Kokrajhar are Gossaigaon, Kokrajhar East (ST), Kokrajhar West (ST), Sidli (ST), Bijni, Sorbhog, Bhabanipur, Tamulpur, Barama (ST) and Chapaguri (ST).

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.