We deliver the northeast

BREAKING: Biswajit Daimary resigns from Rajya Sabha, to join BJP tomorrow

GUWAHATI: Rajya Sabha MP Biswajit Daimary of the Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) officially resigned from his post earlier today. This comes days after the BPF firebrand announced his decision to quit the party and join the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP. According to insiders, Daimary will be inducted into the saffron party in a grand ceremony that will be held in the presence of Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal and Finance Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma.

“As per provision of clause (3)(b) of Article 101 of the Constitution of India and Rule 213 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the Council of States, I hereby resign my seat/membership in the Rajya Sabha with immediate effect,” Daimary wrote in his resignation letter addressed to Venkaiah Naidu, the Chairman of the Rajya Sabha.

Yesterday, the BJP national parliamentary board Friday formally approved the joining of Rajya Sabha MP Biswajit Daimary in the saffron party.

ALSO READ: AASU sets maximum age limit of 40 to be panel member, Graduation must

Daimary is expected to join the party at a formal function in the presence of State Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal. Another high-profile Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) leader — Emmanuel Moshary — is also expected to join the saffron party ahead of the Council polls.

Recently, Daimary said that he will be switching from the “old dustbin”, which is the BPF, to a brand new one — the BJP. The MP’s decision to leave the BPF — of which he has been a core member — has irked the supporters of the party, many of whom have staged demonstrations again him and burnt effigies.

The BTC elections will be held in two phases in December 7 and 11.

To support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism, support us HERE.


The Inside Northeast app HERE for News, Views, and Reviews from Northeast India.

Do keep following us for news on-the-go. We deliver the Northeast.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.