We deliver the northeast

Congress names 40 candidates for Phase-I of Assam polls; check full list here

GUWAHATI: Amid intense speculation, the Assam Congress has finally released the names of its members who will contest in the first phase of the polls.

The party will field 40 candidates in Phase I when altogether 47 Constituencies will head to the polling booths. This means that the Grand Old Party will reserve 7 Seats for its allies.

In the first phase, to be held in Upper Assam Constituencies, several prominent Congress leaders will be contesting the polls.

For instance, Debabrata Saikia, the sitting MLA from Nazira, and Leader of Opposition, will again be contesting from his Constituency.

Assam Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) Chairman Ripun Bora will be contesting from the Gohpur Constituency.

Sunil Arora, the Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) of India said the polls for the 126-member Assam Assembly will be conducted in three phases on March 27, April 1, and April 6. The CEC further said that voting will be carried for an extra one hour in view of the Covid-19 pandemic.

The 2021 Assam Legislative Assembly election is the 15th quinquennial legislative assembly election scheduled to be held in Assam from March 27 to April 6 in three phases, to elect 126 MLAs to the 15th Assam Legislative Assembly.

Stay tuned to InsideNE for more news, views, and alerts.

Support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism:

Support us

Download InsideNE App

Follow us on Facebook

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.