We deliver the northeast

Dima Hasao: EVM registers 171 votes against 90 voters; 5 suspended

HAFLONG: 5 polling officers were suspended when it came to light that a total of 171 votes were registered in the electronic voting machine (EVM) against 90 voters in Dima Hasao’s Haflong constituency that went to the polls in the second phase of the Assam Assembly election in 2021.

According to reports, the total number of voters in Umrongso’s Khatliyar Lower Primary School polling booth was 90 which was.

Also Read: BPF moves Supreme Court seeking stay on polling in Tamulpur

Due to the polling officers’ lack of responsibility, a segment of voters from Muldham Lower Primary School also cast their vote in the Khatliyar LP School.

Hence, the total number of voters raised to 171 in EVM from the existing 90 voters.

“The responsible polling officers have been suspended by the district election officer, and there will be re-poll in the Haflong LAC,” Paul Baruah, Deputy Commissioner of Dima Hasao district, told InsideNE over the phone.

Stating “dereliction of duty”, the EC suspended Seikhosiem Lhangum (Sector Officer), Prahlad Ch Roy (Presiding Officer), Parameswar Charangsa (1st Polling Officer), Swaraj Kanti Das (2nd Polling Officer), and Lalzamlo Thiek (3rd Polling Officer) with immediate effect.

Haflong constituency, which went to the polls in the second phase on April 1. Haflong witnessed 80.39 percent polling.

Support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism:

Support us

Download InsideNE App

Follow us on Facebook

Leave A Reply