We deliver the northeast

Himanta Biswa Sarma, Rafiqul Islam highest qualified MLAs in Assam

GUWAHATI: Assam education minister Himanta Biswa Sarma of the BJP and Jania’s AIUDF MLA Rafiqul Islam are the highest qualified legislators in the 14th Assam Assembly that was elected in April 2016.

According to Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) Assam Election Watch survey report, published today, Jalukbari MLA Sarma and Islam hold doctorate degrees. Both Sarma are PhD scholars from Gauhati University. While Sarma holds MA (Political Science) LLB from Gauahati Univeristy, Islam is a gold medallist MA degree holder. Sarma secured his doctorate in 2006 and Islam in 2016.

On the other hand, deceased Badarpur MLA Jamal Uddin Ahmed of the Congress was the least qualified representative in the Assembly. In his election affidavit, Ahmed stated his 5th passed having studied up to Class VII.

ALSO READ: ECI likely to notify Assam polls by March 1st week: says PM Modi

Among the sitting MLAs, All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) MLAs Aziz Ahmed Khan of Karimganj South and Nizam Uddin Choudhury of Algapur are the least educated. Having submitted Class XI passed certificates, the two fall under the 8th passed category.

The report says 43 per cent of AIUDF MLAs (6 out of 14), 41 per cent of BJP MLAs (24 out of 59), 35 per cent of Congress MLAs (7 out of 20), 33 per cent of Bodoland People’s Front MLAs (4 out of 12) and 15 per cent of Asom Gana Parishad MLAs (2 out of 13) have qualification between 5th pass and 12th pass.

ALSO READ: Modi Lays Foundation Of 2 More Engineering Colleges, 3 Oil Plants In Assam

The house has 38, the highest number of MLAs, who are graduates and 25 post graduate representatives. There are 21 MLAs who are 10th passed and 20 MLAs are 12th passed. One of the MLAs, Abdur Rashid Mandal of Goalpara West is a diploma holder in civil engineering. Most of the post graduates are degree holders in law.

Chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal is an LLB from Gauhati University Law College and also holds a Bachelor of Communication Journalism degree from Gauhati University.

Leave A Reply