We deliver the northeast

Journalists Maria Ressa, Dmitry Muratov awarded Nobel Peace Prize 2021

Journalists Maria Ressa from Philippines and Dmitry Muratov of Russia won Nobel Peace Prize this year, honouring the right to free speech which the prize-giving committee described as under threat around the globe.

They have been awarded for their courageous fight for freedom of expression in Philippines and Russia. The journalists represent all journalists who stand for democracy and dreedom of press and face adverse situation.

The prize is the first for journalists since the German Carl von Ossietzky won it in 1935 for revealing his country’s secret post-war rearmament programme.

ALSO READ: Petrol price crosses ₹100 mark in Assam’s Dhubri

Ressa, who founded investigative journalism website Rappler, has focused much of her work on Philippine President Rodrigo Duterte’s controversial and violent war on drugs.

Muratov founded the Russian newspaper Novaya Gazeta in 1993 and has been its editor-in-chief for 24 years.

Last year’s prize went to the World Food Programme for its efforts to combat hunger and food insecurity around the globe.

Support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism:

Support us

Download InsideNE App

Follow us on Facebook

Leave A Reply