We deliver the northeast

Meghalaya: 12 Congress MLAs join TMC, official announcement today

SHILLONG: Former Meghalaya CM Mukul Sangma and 11 other Congress MLAs joined Trinamool Congress.

A formal announcement will be made today at 1PM.

MLA Zenith Sangma has officially confirmed to InsideNortheast that all the 12 MLAs has joined TMC and an announcement on the move will be made today at 1pm.

He further informed that other Congress MLAs are also likely to join TMC in the coming days.

Congress has 18 MLAs in the 60-member assembly and Sangma, a five-time MLA, is currently the leader of the opposition there.

Sangma’s possible exit has been the subject of speculation ever since Congress appointed Shillong MP Vincent H Pala as the party’s state president.

Sangma didn’t give away much but his meetings with TMC strategist Prashant Kishor, general secretary Abhishek Banerjee and TMC Rajya Sabha member Sushmita Dev fuelled talk of the defection being just a formality.

Leave A Reply