We deliver the northeast

Meghalaya Bypolls: Congress finalises candidates for Rajabala and Mawphlang

SHILLONG: The Meghalaya Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) has finalised its candidates for two out of three constituencies to go to bypolls on October 30.

The by-election in three constituencies – Mawryngkneng, Rajabala and Mawphlang – was necessitated following the death of its incumbent MLAs.

MPCC has decided its candidates’ names for the constituencies of Rajabala and Mawphlang whereas candidates for Mawryngkneng yet to be decided.

Also Read: Assam Congress MLA Sherman Ali arrested for provocative remarks

As per sources, the party’s state election committee will make a decision on the Mawryngkneng candidate.

David Nongrum, Congress MLA from Mawryngkneng, died in February and another Congress MLA Azad Zaman from Rajabala constituency in March.

Mawphlang Independent MLA S K Sunn died just a month ago on September 10.

Support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism:

Support us

Download InsideNE App

Follow us on Facebook

Leave A Reply