We deliver the northeast

Nagaland: Five-member AITC delegation to visit Mon district

KOHIMA: A five-member All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) will visit Nagaland today to stand by the families of the victims of firing incident in Mon district.

The party’s official statement read, “A five-member AITC delegation will be visiting Nagaland today to stand beside the families of those killed and injured in the heart-wrenching incident in Oting, Mon.”

The five-member delegation comprises Prasun Banerjee (MP, Lok Sabha)
Sushmita Dev (MP, Rajya Sabha), Aparupa Poddar (MP, Lok Sabha), Dr. Santanu Sen (MP, Rajya Sabha) and Biswajit Deb (Former AG, Mizoram).

ALSO READ: Nagaland govt sets up SIT to probe Mon firing; one more killed in protests

Earlier on Sunday, the Nagaland government set up a Special Investigation Team (SIT) to probe into the firing incident in which at least 14 civilians were killed in an area between Tiru and Oting village in Mon district.

One more civilian was killed in violent protests on Sunday, while another was seriously injured.

Following a ban on internet services and bulk SMS, the district administration also imposed Section 144 of the CrPC in Mon.

Support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism:

Support us

Download InsideNE App

Follow us on Facebook

Leave A Reply