We deliver the northeast

12 MPs including Ripun Bora suspended from Rajya Sabha

Guwahati: Twelve Members of Parliament (MPs) including Ripun Bora from the Indian National Congress were suspended from the Rajya Sabha on Monday for the “rest of the Winter Session” on charges of them being involved in ‘unruly behaviour’ during the Monsoon Session of Parliament.

A statement read, “This House takes cognizance and strongly condemns the utter disregard to the authority of the Chair, complete abuse of rules of the House persistently thereby wilfully obstructing the business of House through their unprecedented acts of misconduct, contemptuous, unruly and violent behaviour and intentional attacks on security personnel on the last day of 254th Session of Rajya Sabha i.e. August 11.”


1. Elamaram Kareem (CPM)

2. Phulo Devi Netam (INC)

3. Chhaya Verma (INC)

4. Ripun Bora (INC)

5. Binoy Viswam (CPI)

6. Rajamani Patel (INC)

7. Dola Sen (TMC)

8. Shanta Chhetri (TMC)

9. Syed Nasir Hussain (INC)

10. Priyanka Chaturvedi (Shiv Sena)

11. Anil Desai (Shiv Sena)

12. Akhilesh Prasad Singh (INC)

All of these Opposition MPs had earlier in the Monsoon Session climbed on the officials’ table and then waved black cloth as a protest. They also threw files during the discussion on farmers’ protests regarding the farm laws.

Leave A Reply