We deliver the northeast

Series of Middle Assam Bandhs called by Tiwa Orgs from Nov 23

Morigaon: Expressing dissatisfaction over the Tiwa Autonomous Council election notification and the reduction of the ST reservation by two seats, several Tiwa organisations have called for a series of bandhs and road blockades across middle Assam.

The organisations include All Tiwa Students’ Union (ATSU), All Tiwa Women Association (ATWA), Tiwa Autonomous Demand Committee (TADC), Tiwa Cultural Society (TCS), All Tiwa Protection Committee (ATPC) and Tiwa Yuba Chatra Parishad (TYCP).

ALSO READ: Lurin Jyoti Gogoi resigns as AASU General Secretary, likely to join active politics soon

The organisations have called a series of bandhs in from November 23. On November 23 there will be a 12-hour bandh on November 26, a 24-hour bandh has been called while on December 5 there will a 36-hour bandh along with a National Highway blockade on December 1.

These have been called in order to protest against seat declaration for the upcoming TAC elections by the election commission. The organisations have alleged that the seat declation of the reserved seats are wrong and it violates the reservation rule.

ALSO READ: Assam: Biswajit Daimary & Emmanuel Mosahary inducted into BJP by CM Sonowal

A 2005 law stated 25 constituencies of the TAC are ST seats of the total 36 but in the recent notification in was said that 23 seats were reserved for the ST and this stirred a protest among the Tiwa organisations.

The State Election Commission (SEC), Assam on December 17 announced the dates relating to elections in 36 (thirty-six) constituencies to elect members to the General Council of the Tiwa Autonomous Council, strictly following the broad guidelines for the conduct of election during COVID-19 given by Election Commission of India and adopted by SEC, Assam.

The order issued by Alok Kumar, the State Election Commissioner, Assam vide Notification No.SEC.86/2020/7 published on November 17, announced the dates for filing nominations, poll date, counting date and others related to the election.

Earlier, the SEC, Assam had, in the exercise of powers conferred under the provision of Rule 4 of the Tiwa Autonomous Council (Election) Rules, 2005, published the final Photo Electoral Rolls in 30 (thirty) Constituencies under Morigaon, Nagaon and Hojai districts on October 22 and in 6 (six) Constituencies in Kamrup (M) district on November 11.

To support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism, support us HERE.


The Inside Northeast app HERE for News, Views, and Reviews from Northeast India.

Do keep following us for news on-the-go. We deliver the Northeast.

Leave A Reply