We deliver the northeast

Sikkim gets two new districts, remaining four renamed

GANGTOK: Sikkim now has 6 districts with the addition of Pakyong and Soreng. The government declared six districts through a gazette notification coming into force from December 21.

While, Soreng was a part of West Sikkim district, Pakyong was a part of East Sikkim district.

Pakyong district will include subdivisions of namely Pakyong, Rongli and Rangpo.

Soren district will have two subdivisions – Mangalbarey and Soreng.

Meanwhile, names of the remaining four districts have also been changed.
While, North Sikkim district has been renamed as Mangan, West Sikkim will be called Gyalshing.

On the other hand, East Sikkim district has been renamed as Gangtok and South Sikkim as Namchi.

Gangtok district has been divided into two subdivisions – Gangtok and Rabdang.
Gyalshing will have three subdivisions – Gyalshing, Dentam and Yuksom.

Mangan district will have four subdivisions – Mangan, Kabi, Dzongu and Chungthang.

Lastly, Namchi district will have four subdivisions – Namchi, Jorethang, Ravangla and Yangang.

Leave A Reply