We deliver the northeast

Ten Manipuri women footballers selected for Indian national football team

IMPHAL: As many as 10 women footballers from the state of Manipur have been selected for the Indian national football team by the All India Football Federation (AIFF).
The AIFF has chosen ten Manipur girls to join the Senior Women’s National Coaching Camp’s final preparation to be held at Jamshedpur from August 16.
The women footballers will be selected from the camp to represent India in the next AFC Women’s Asian Cup 2022.
State Chief Minister N Biren Singh took to Twitter and congratulated the female footballers of his state.
“Proud moment for our girls as AIFF has included 10 Manipuri players in the final list for the Senior Women’s National Coaching Camp to be held at Jamshedpur from August 16 in preparation for the forthcoming AFC Women’s Asian Cup 2022. My best wishes to all the participants,” CM Biren Singh tweeted.
After taking over as head coach of the senior women’s squad, Thomas Dennerby has named a list of 30 probable players who will attend the Jamshedpur camp.
Bala Devi, who is presently undergoing rehabilitation, will join the camp to examine her medical status in addition to the 30 players chosen by Dennerby.
The following is a list of the 30 players:

Goalkeepers: Aditi Chauhan, Shreya Hooda, Sowmiya Narayanasamy, and M Linthoingambi Devi.

Midfielders: Sangita Basfore, Martina Thokchom, Indumathi Kathiresan, Dangmei Grace,  Mariyammal Balamurugan, Sanju, Manisha, Soumya Guguloth, and Sumithra Kamaraj.

Forwards: Renu, Karishma Shirvoikar, Daya Devi, Pyari Xaxa, Sandhiya Ranganathan, and Sumati Kumari.

Defenders: Jabamani Tudu, Ashalata Devi,  Michel Castanha, Ritu Rani, Sweety Devi, Hemam Shilky Devi, Ranjana Chanu Sorokhaibam, Anju Tamang, Asem Roja Devi, W Linthoingambi Devi, and Kritina Devi Thounaojam.

Support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism:


Support us

Download InsideNE App

Follow us on Facebook

Leave A Reply