We deliver the northeast

TTADC polls: Pradyot Manikya submits nomination papers; to contest from Takarjhala-Jampuijala

AGARTALA: TIPRA chief Pradyot Manikya today submitted his nomination for the ensuing Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council (TTADC) elections from the Takarjhala-Jampuijala Constituency in the Jampuijala SDM office today.

Till now, TIPRA has confirmed that it will contest in at least 21 out of the Seats in the ensuing polls, which will be conducted on April 4.

The Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) is expected to be the biggest challenge to Pradyot.
However, sources said that the party might revoke the nomination from the Constituency after the TIPRA chief’s nomination.

ALSO READ: Bodo actress Helina Daimari appointed as election brand ambassador of Baksa district

According to seat-sharing plan, the BJP alone would contest on 11 seats while the IPFT would field 16 candidates. On the remaining seats, both the parties have agreed to a ‘friendly’ contest.

BJP state president Dr. Manik Saha said the candidate list has been prepared with “mutual understanding.”

Earlier, the two parties — which are part of the ruling alliance — had planned to contest the elections alone due to differences over seat sharing. At one point, the IPFT also extended its hand to TIPRA, which will be participating in elections for the very first time.

The TTAADC is governed by a council that has 30 members. Out of 30 members, 28 members are elected through adult suffrage, while 2 members are nominated by the governor of Tripura. Out of 28 elected seats, 25 are reserved for Scheduled Tribes.

Support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism:

Support us

Download InsideNE App

Follow us on Facebook

Leave A Reply