We deliver the northeast

UPPL names two candidates for Assam elections 2021; check here

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

GUWAHATI: The Promod Boro-led United People’s Party Liberal (UPL) today announced the names of two candidates who will contest the polls in the second phase of polling.

While Gabinda Basumatary will contest from 69 Udalguri (ST) Constituency, Ratendra Daimary shall contest from 70 Mazbat Constituency. Basumatary, a former leader of the pro-talks NDFB faction, is currently the deputy chief of Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC).

Ruling NDA constituent UPPL will field candidates in as many as 8 Assembly Constituencies, the party’s leadership had confirmed earlier.

The BJP has formed an alliance with the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and UPPL to fight the Assam Assembly polls.

The BPF on Monday announced names of four candidates for the upcoming Assam Assembly polls.

Durga Das Boro — formerly of the Congress — joined the BPF in presence of its chief Hagrama Mohilary and he was offered candidature from the Kalaigaon constituency.

BPF, which was part of the BJP-led state government, has joined the Congress-headed seven-party Grand Alliance.

The Congress led grand alliance or ‘Mahajath’ comprises the Assam Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC), All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF), Communist Party of India (CPI), the Communist Party of India (Marxist) or CPI (M), the Communist Party of India (Marxist Leninist) Liberation or CPI(ML), and the Anchalik Gana Marcha (AGM). BPF has also broken away from the BJP-led alliance to join the ‘Mahajath’

At a press conference at Kokrajhar, Mohilary announced the names of the four candidates, including Boro.

Senior cabinet minister Rihon Daimary received ticket for the Udalguri constituency, while Karuna Kanta Sorgoyari and Charan Boro will contest from Panery and Majbat seats respectively.

Support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism:

Support us

Download InsideNE App

Follow us on Facebook

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply