We deliver the northeast

Will Akhil Gogoi be the kingmaker in Assam? Check out InsideNE exit poll

GUWAHATI: At least six independent MLAs, including peasant leader Akhil Gogoi, is likely to play a key role in forming the next government at Dispur.

InsideNE, in its exit poll published today, has predicted a neck-to-neck result of the Assam assembly elections that will be declared on May 2.

In the exit poll, InsideNE had conducted, the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) or the Mitrajot is predicted to win 57 to 67 seats, while the Congress-led United People’s Alliance (UPA) or the Mahajot would win 53 to 63 seats. It has predicted win for at least six independents.

ALSO READ: Assam DGP asserts third abducted ONGC employee Ritul Saikia is alive in ULFA-I captivity; efforts on to rescue him

According to the assessment, the NDA is projected to win 28 seats out of 47 from the first phase of polling held on March 27, while the UPA would win 17 and the remaining two by independents.

In second phase polling held on April 1, the NDA would win 26 seats, while the Mahajot is predicted to win 13. The UPA is projected to bag 32 out of 40 seats that went to polls in the final phase on April 6. According to the survey, the number of seats might vary by only one or two in each case.

In Dispur, the exit polls has found Mahajot candidate Manjit Mahanta stands a chance to prevail over the NDA incumbent Atul Bora, while Mahajot’s Mira Borthakur is also predicted to be in strong contention against NDA’s sitting MLA Ramendra Narayan Kalita.

ALSO READ: ULFA-I Leader Jibon Moran Shifted To Dibrugarh; Handed Over To Assam Police

Apart from Sibsagar where Gogoi is the aspirant, the exit poll has given Sadiya as another major seat slipping out of the grip of the NDA and UPA.

The NDA comprises, BJP, Asom Gana Parishad (AGP), United People’s Party-Liberal (UPPL) and Gana Shakti Party (GSP), while the UPA constituents are Congress, All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF), Bodoland People’s Front (BPF), CPI, CPIM, CPI(ML) and AGM.

According to the assessment, the NDA is projected to loss out Chabua, Doomdooma, Amguri, Teok, Jorhat, Dergaon, Golaghat, Batodrava, Nowgong, Raha, Udharbond and Sonai among others to the UPA.

The UPA had won only 26 seats in the last assembly elections in 2016.

Leave A Reply