We deliver the northeast

‘Won’t compromise on Greater Tipraland demand,’ promises Pradyot Manikya

AGARTALA: Pradyot Deb Barman, the leader of Tipraha Indigenous Progressive Regional Alliance (TIPRA), which has stitched a crucial alliance with the BJP ally Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT), has said that that there will be “no compromise” on the demand for a ‘Greater Tipraland’ state.
Yesterday, Pradyot Deb Barman’s TIPRA and thundered at Khumulwng, the headquarters of Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council (TTAADC).

Speaking at the rally, Manikya said that they will speak with leaders in New Delhi and not settle for anything lesser than ‘Greater Tipraland.’

The demand for a ‘Greater Tipraland’ is not restricted to the Tripura tribal council areas but seeks to include ‘Tiprasa’ of Tripuris spread across different states of India like Assam, Mizoram and even those living in areas bordering Bangladesh.

Taking a potshot at East Tripura MP Rebati Tripura, Deb Barman alleged that he has betrayed the people of the state by voting for the Citizenship Amendment Act.

Today, Manikya released a short footage from the rally along with the caption, “Delhi please listen to our voices, talking in Agartala will not solve our problem.”

IPFT general secretary and tribal welfare minister, Mevar Kumar Jamatia, claimed that the tribals have been suppressed and used for ‘vote bank politics.’

On the sidelines of the massive rally, Deb Barman told media that they are not against any community. Stating that the tribal leaders do not trust the “leadership within the state”, he added that he wants New Delhi to address it.

IPFT president and revenue minister Narendra Chandra Debbbarma said they would take a call on the coalition with BJP only “after the district council polls.”

The TTAADC was constituted through a vote by secret ballot on January 15, 1982, and the elected members were sworn in on January 18, 1982. The High Court of Tripura on January 12 ordered the state government to conduct elections for the TTAADC by May 17. The TTAADC consists of a 30 member council, of which 28 are elected, and the Governor nominates two members.

Support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism:

Support us

Download InsideNE App

Follow us on Facebook

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.