We deliver the northeast

Assam:First session of 15th Legislative Assembly to start on May 21

GUWAHATI: The first session of the 15th Assam Legislative Assembly will begin on May 21 (Friday), 2021.

The session will begin with Protem speaker Phani Bhushan Choudhury administering the oath of office before the session.

The oath of secrecy will be administered to all 125 newly-elected MLAs (except the pro-tem Speaker). Former Digboi MLA Rameswar Dhanowar of the Congress party is the only other MLA to have won an Assembly seat eight times in a row.

ALSO READ: Earthquake Measuring 4.1 Jolts Parts Of Assam

The Governor Prof Jagdish Mukhi will address the Legislative Assembly on 22 May

The Legislative Assembly session will be held abiding by all COVID-19 protocols.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won 60 seats, the Congress 29, the AIUDF 16, the AGP 9, the UPPL 6, the BPF 4, the CPI-M 1, and Akhil Gogoi, the president of the Raijor Dal, won the Sivasagar seat in the recently concluded Assam elections 2021.

Support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism:

Support us

Download InsideNE App

Follow us on Facebook




Leave A Reply