We deliver the northeast

Bhupendra Patel is the new Chief Minister of Gujarat

GANDHINAGAR: Bhupendra Patel (59), a Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MLA was named the new Chief Minister of Gujarat today.

Bhupendra Patel and council of ministers are expected to be sworn in on September 13.

Gujarat will hold assembly elections in December 2022.

Patel’s nomination was approved today at the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) legislature party meeting in Gandhinagar.

Patel is BJP MLA from Gujarat’s Ghatlodiya Assembly constituency and has previously served as the chairman of the Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation (AMC) ‘s standing committee.

ALSO READ: Assam’s Nimatighat boat tragedy: 6 arrested in connection with the accident

Patel will take over for Vijay Rupani, who resigned from the top job on Saturday.

Rupani submitted his resignation, along with that of his cabinet, to Governor Acharya Devvrat, paving the way for a change of guard in the state, which goes to the polls in 15 months.

The CM-designate won the 2017 Gujarat elections by defeating Congress candidate Shashikant Patel.

He won by a record margin of 117,000 votes, the largest for the BJP in any Gujarat constituency in this election.

Support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism:

Support us

Download InsideNE App

Follow us on Facebook

Leave A Reply