We deliver the northeast

Kamrup (M) records 46.75 voters turnout till 1 pm in the third phase poll

GUWAHATI: Kamrup (Metro) recorded 46.75 per cent voter turnout till 1 pm, as it has gone to polls today in the third phase of Assam assembly polls.
Kamrup (M) includes four constituencies — Jalukbari, Dispur, Gauhati East and Gauhati West — and the constituencies have recorded 51 per cent, 45 per cent, 42 per cent and 49 per cent respectively as revealed by the Kamrup (Metro) election district office.

Dispur constituency is the largest among all the constituencies that has gone to polls in the third phase with 4,11,636 voters exercising their franchise. A total of 13 candidates are contesting from this constituency. The Congress has fielded alliance candidate Manjit Mahanta against incumbent Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) Atul Bora. The Assam Jatiya Parishad has pitched former student leader Prince Faizul Haque.

Also Read: BJP leader Himanta Biswa Sarma casts his vote amid massive support in Jalukbari

Jalukabari is also one of the much hyped constituencies due to the presence of BJP’s star campaigner Himanta Biswa Sarma, and against him there are three independent candidates and Romen Chandra Borthakur of Congress.

Gauhati East has BJP minister Siddhartha Bhattacharya and Ashima Bordoloi and Adip Kumar Phukan of Congress and AJP respectively. There are other seven candidates as well.

From Gauhati West, 15 candidates are trying their fate. Among them, Mira Borthakur Goswami of Congress and incumbent AGP MLA Ramendra Narayan Kalita are most prominent faces.

Support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism:

Support us

Download InsideNE App

Follow us on Facebook


Leave A Reply