We deliver the northeast

Voting begins for phase II of Assam assembly election

GUWAHATI: Voting for the second phase of Assam assembly election vegan at 7 am this morning to decide the fate of 345 candidates in total 39 constituencies under 13 districts.

The polls in phase II includes 15 assembly constituencies in the Barak Valley while the rest comes under 24 hill districts.

Here is the list of the 39 constituencies in which voting is underway:

  1. Patherkandi
  2. Karimganj North
  3. Karimganj South
  4. Badarpur
  5. Hailakandi
  6. Katlicherra
  7. Algapur
  8. Silchar
  9. Sonai
  10. Dholai (SC)
  11. Udharbond
  12. Lakhipur
  13. Barkhola
  14. Katigorah
  15. Haflong (ST)
  16. Bokajan (ST)
  17. Howraghat (ST)
  18. Diphu (ST)
  19. Baithalangso (ST)
  20. Kamalpur
  21. Rangiya
  22. Nalbari
  23. Panery (ST)
  24. Udalguri (ST)
  25. Majbat
  26. Kalaigaon
  27. Sipajhar
  28. Mangaldoi (SC)
  29. Dalgaon
  30. Jagiroad (SC)
  31. Marigaon
  32. Laharighat
  33. Raha (SC)
  34. Nowgong
  35. Barhampur
  36. Jamunamukh
  37. Hojai
  38. Lumding

As many as 73.44 lakh voters are eligible to cast their votes in this phase.

ALSO READ: PUBG likely to make its comeback in India soon

Among the 73.44 lakh voters, 37,34,537 are male while, 36,09,959 are female and 135 are third gender voters.

The voting is underway on total of 8,998 polling stations and 566 of them are all women –polling stations.

The fate of four ministers and the deputy speaker of the Assam assembly will be sealed in phase II of the polls.


Prominent faces from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) include ministers Parimal Suklabaidya from Dholai, Pijush Hazarika from Jagiroad,

Bhabesh Kalita from Rangiya, Rajya Sabha MP Biswajit Daimary from Panery, Deputy Speaker Aminul Haque Laskar from Sonai, AIUDF chief Badruddin Ajmal’s brother Sirajuddin Ajmal, Sum Ronghang from Diphu, Rihon Daimary from Udalguri, sitting AIUDF MLAs Suzamuddin Laskar from Katlicherra and Nizamuddin Choudhury form Algapur, former Congress minister Siddeque Ahmed from Karimganj South, sitting MLA Kamalakhya Dey Purkayastha from Karimganj North. A former MP and MLA, is contesting from Jamunamukh, former Deputy Speaker Dilip Kumar Paul is contesting as an Independent from Silchar, former Congress minister Gautam Roy is contesting on a BJP ticket from Katigora and former Congress spokesperson Durga Das Boro is contesting as a BPF candidate from Kalaigaon.


The third phase of the polls will take place on April 6.

The counting of votes will Take place on May 2.

Support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism:

Support us

Download InsideNE App

Follow us on Facebook

Leave A Reply