We deliver the northeast

Ruling MNF sweeps Aizawl civic polls; 8 councillors re-elected

AIZAWL: The ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) has swept the Aizawl Municipal Corporation (AMC) elections winning 11 of the 19 seats.

Opposition Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) won 6 contesting in all the 19 wards, while the Congress managed to clinch the remaining two fielding candidates in all 19 wards. The BJP that contested in nine seats, failed to open account.

The MNP won exactly the same number of seats (11) in the last AMC polls in 2015.

Eight incumbent councillors, including six from MNF and two Congressmen have been re-elected.

ALSO READ: Assam: Biswajit Daimary to be elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha

Prominent among those re-elected include deputy mayor Lalringliana of MNF defeating his nearest rival Lalthazuala Rawite of ZPM by 716 votes.

Rosiamngheta of the Congress won the civic body polls for the third consecutive term defeating his MNF opponent Rochhunga Ralte by 232 votes.

Chief minister Zoramthanga, who is also the MNF president, expressed happiness over the victory. He thanked the people for voting in favour of the MNF.

“I, wholeheartedly and sincerely, could not thank enough the people of #Mizoram for trusting the #MizoNationalFront (MNF) to be the torchbearer for various development goals at the Aizawl Municipal Corporation Civic Polls 2021. The Government of Mizoram will do our best!.”

At least 66 candidates, including 20 females, were in the fray. Of a total of 2,20,110 voters in Aizawl, 64.19 per cent had exercised their franchise in polls on Tuesday. The counting took place on Thursday.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.